Breathe

-By Jared, Wellness Student Intern- Last Sunday I ran my first marathon.  As I hopped a fence to enter a crowded start coral my heart was in my chest, beating like a drum.  The excitement, nerves, four months of training, fear, and anxiousness had all melded into one feeling.  It was about to begin.

Time after time, on training runs, a close friend had complemented me on my ability to “pace myself.”  Basically, as we embarked on a lengthy journey I had the ability to hold back a bit, and keep gas in the tank for the remaining miles.

I was nervous as I started running that I was going too fast.  People lined the streets to cheer us on, and I didn’t want to let them, my family, my friends, or myself down.  Needless to say a lot was on my mind, and as I prepared to run 26.2 miles consecutively.

Flickr photo by waynesutton12

I reflected on breathing.  That is exactly what we are instructed to do by Jackie, the instructor of Yoga on Wednesday nights here at Marquette.  I remembered to inhale through my nose, and control the breath that exits through my mouth.

I continued to run, then ran some more.  Thanks to Jackie’s tips from yoga on simply controlling my breathe I was able to kick that much stronger, hold myself to pace for the rest of the race, and run a fantastic route.

Thanks Jackie!

0 Responses to “Breathe”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 472 other followers

Follow us on Twitter

Archives

Hours & Info

414-288-5607
Mon-Fri 8 am to 4 pm

