Do you have a New Year’s weight loss resolution? Time for some sound advice.

By Jill Weisensel  –  Every year during the first week in January we get bombarded with news specials, magazines, and blog posts touting all the ways in which this “new year” is going to be THE BEST YEAR.

“A New Year… A New You!”  “2012- This is YOUR year.”  Almost as if whatever product they’re promoting or whatever piece of groundbreaking advice they have to offer will somehow magically transform your “poor defeated life” into one that’s “significantly better.”

I just received the January issue of my favorite magazine.  I took one look at the cover, and of course, it was more of the same: “2012! A New Year, A New You!” I picked up the magazine and looked at the cover inquisitively. I read that headline over and over again.  I stared at it blankly and sighed, I put it down and muttered to myself “…and just WHAT exactly was wrong with the old me?” I’m sure I’m not the only one who scoffs at the hype.

Nonetheless, my curiosity got the best of me and I read several of the articles.  One in particular pointed out why weight loss fads don’t work.  This caught my attention as every year I find many people launch themselves into a completely torturous and unforgiving “diet,” that inevitably fails and sends them speeding to the grocery store to terrorize the candy and bread aisles.

In an effort to save just one of my friends from a miserable January filled with “all or nothing” dieting and workout behaviors, I wanted to share with you several “elements” that researchers have found common across many successful weight-loss and weight-management programs.  If you’re thinking about “turning over a new leaf” this January in an effort to create a better you, consider these “9 goals:”

1.  Do exercises you enjoy.  This means you’re not “stuck” having to stick to a monotonous treadmill routine.  Consider fun winter sports such as ice skating or snowshoeing.   Mix it up, or attend a class offered at the Rec Center or Rec Plex.

2.  Limit sugarTry to limit sweets to less than 10% of your daily calories.

3.  Think about how much better you feel when you’re thinner.  I’d like to add to this: think about how much more healthy and capable you feel when you’re at a healthy weight.  For example, do your joints feel better?  Are you sleeping better?  Do you notice yourself in a considerably better and predictable mood?

4.  Remind yourself of why you need to control your weight.  This could be for a variety of individual health reasons.  It could be to control diabetes, or to maintain a healthy heart.  Personally, I control my weight and fitness so that I can appropriately do my job.  I’d also like to be able to run around and play football with my nieces and nephews someday.

5.  Carve out time for a consistent exercise routine.  Now I know what you’re thinking.  “How am I going to find an extra hour or two a day to work out?”  I’m sorry, but that’s no longer a valid excuse.  There are PLENTY of 15, 20, and 30 minute workout routines, programs, and classes that have shown proven health benefits.  You can find 30 minutes can’t you?

6.  Reward yourself for sticking to your diet.  As in, don’t make January an “all or nothing” nutritional assault.  Enjoy eating the foods you enjoy, but do so in moderation.  Not to sound like a broken record, but sound nutrition really is about balance, variety, and moderation.

 7.  Make grocery listsThis will not only save you money at the grocery store (think: less impulse purchases), but will also ensure you load up on a variety of healthy fruits, vegetables, lean proteins, and whole grains.

8.  Weigh yourself often.  This will help you hold yourself accountable, and also show you your positive progress towards your goal.  I’d also like to add this: make a food log.  Write down everything you eat and drink for 2-3 days.  What you find out regarding your intake might surprise you.

9.  Eat fruits and vegetablesAnd lots of them.  Researchers found that people were more than “twice as likely to lose weight when they ate fruits and vegetables often.”

Enjoy the New Year and remember, focus on progress, not perfection!

1 Response to “Do you have a New Year’s weight loss resolution? Time for some sound advice.”


  1. 1 bone broth August 22, 2015 at 11:02 pm

    Sound tips for weight loss. I believe that you have to start with small changes for your New Year resolution and then eventually you’ll be able to maintain it. As advised, focus on progress, not perfection. Thanks for the share!

    bone broth


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 476 other followers

Follow us on Twitter

Archives

Hours & Info

414-288-5607
Mon-Fri 8 am to 4 pm

