Hydration Station: tips on how to drink enough water

water-image1We hear it all the time. “Maybe you should be drinking more water.” “You should be drinking at least eight glasses of water everyday.” “Stay hydrated.” We are advised to make water a bigger part of our lives but how many of us are actually drinking enough water?

Water has unbelievable health benefits. Not only is it used for just about every internal bodily function in the human body, but it can also keep our skin clearer and our muscles stronger. So why is it so difficult to drink enough of this life-giving liquid?

I have had this problem in the past, too. I’ve tried it all – setting alarms  on my phone to remind me to drink more water, carrying around the biggest water bottle that I would possibly find, rewarding myself with a Reese’s every time I emptied a glass of water. None of those methods stuck. Trial and error, though, my friend. So here are a few hydration tricks that have worked for me.

First off, I bring my water bottle with me everywhere I go. Yes, it can be obnoxious at times to hold on to and can add some weight to my bag at times, but I have its physical presence constantly reminding me to take a sip of water here and there. The more I drink, too, the less weight I have to carry around.

Another thing that I have found makes me drink more water is having a water bottle with a straw in the cap. When I am sitting in front of my computer, typing away to you people, I can drink through my straw usually without even noticing. This has created an awesome habit of subconsciously drinking water and has also gotten rid of my bad boredom-eating habit!

Speaking of eating, you can also get more water by eating lots of fruits and veggies. Just like us humans, fruits and veggies are also mainly comprised of water. This means that a handful of grapes, a few stalks of celery and an apple could also help you stay hydrated.

Lastly, I sometimes get sick of water. In order to switch things up, I add some drops of Mio water flavor or Dasani drops. These tasty little drops work like food coloring – all it takes is one or two drops to completely change plain water into lemonade or fruit punch. These help me avoid sugar-packed sodas or juices.

Have more ideas on how to drink enough water everyday? Feel free to share by commenting on this post or hitting us up on Twitter or Facebook. We’d love to hear your ideas and suggestions!

2 Responses to “Hydration Station: tips on how to drink enough water”


  1. 1 Shasha October 3, 2017 at 4:53 pm

    Thanks for the tips. I have found having a straw in the water bottle helps me too. One more thing that helps me is to forcefully fill my water bottle when i decide to have my meal. It helps me stay hydrated and there is always enough water in my bottle.


  1. 1 Slather on the SPF | Marquette University Employee Wellness Trackback on June 13, 2017 at 11:01 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 476 other followers

Follow us on Twitter

Archives

Hours & Info

414-288-5607
Mon-Fri 8 am to 4 pm

