Helping others helps you

servlet

Wellbeing is usually a balance of a healthy diet, exercise and rest, but we all use different ways of getting to this well state of mind and body. For me, one of the biggest contributors to my own wellness is actually helping others!

Throughout my life I have dedicated hours upon hours of my time to volunteering. And while the amount of time I spent doing so may have been slightly unhealthy, it made me a happier, more positive, and passionate person. You always hear people say that volunteering has a positive influence on the community around you, but you do not often hear people talking about the tremendous impact it has on the volunteer. I can tell you first hand how big of an impact helping others has had on me. While I was in various community service clubs, I sought out other opportunities within the community as well. I have done everything – serving food at homeless shelters, raising money, tutoring kids, teaching tennis, working in a hospital and more. Looking back, these were some of the best experiences in my life, and I only wish everyone could share these same experiences. I was able to see the differences that my actions made on other people. Seeing the smile on the kid who finally got that difficult math problem right. Or meeting new people who shared my passion for helping. Each and every part of my volunteering opportunities has helped me move forward toward living a life of wellness.

With my chaotic college life, I have found that I spend less and less time doing these activities that I used to love. However, when I once again set aside some time to take part in serving my community, my mood improves, and I tend to forget about all the other worrisome aspects of my life. All of these trivial parts of life seem to melt away when you immerse yourself into the act of giving. Due to this, I encourage you to take on a new community service project, even if it’s only a one day thing. It will help your community and give you a new and different sense of wellness and connectedness with that community. Sign up with your spouse, your kids, a sibling or a few coworkers. This will make for a day of fun and adventure while making a difference in the community and your own life.

Seeing the impact that just one person can have on another person, a family, a community and the world is absolutely inspiring. And if my passion for helping others encourages just one other person to get out there and make a difference in their community and their own life, then I will consider my mission accomplished.

The impact that volunteering has had on me is everlasting, and I hope that my accounts inspire you to dive into these amazing experiences as well.

 

Alicia Diedrich

0 Responses to “Helping others helps you”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 414 other followers

Follow us on Twitter

Archives

Social

Hours & Info

1-202-555-1212
Lunch: 11am - 2pm
Dinner: M-Th 5pm - 11pm, Fri-Sat:5pm - 1am

