Take a break this spring break

relax

With spring break coming up at the end of this week, I sat here wondering what Marquette employees do during this time off, I realized it probably looks very different from most students’ spring breaks. Many of Marquette’s employees that work in the offices on campus may not have time off at all. While Marquette’s professors will likely be working on grading papers and midterms, and preparing for their classes after spring break is over.

While I do have a few papers to write and tests to prepare for after break, grading hundreds of papers and tests or working full time during my break does not sound appealing in the least. I wanted to offer a word of advice for Marquette’s employees that do not get a “Spring Break.”

You may be busy during the time off from classes, but you should not be so busy that you do not take any time for yourself. Make sure you carve in some personal time to work on your mental, emotional, spiritual, and physical wellness. Afterall, without having wellness in the forefront of your mind at all times, it can seem like a chore to do these things everyday.

No matter how busy my day is, I always make sure to take time to do something that betters myself in some way. Whether it is as simple as turning on my salt lamp, lighting a candle, doing some yoga and strength training, or simply eating an apple or a banana. These small measures have great effects in my life. I know that even if I’ve had a crazy busy day, I at least have one relaxing thing to look forward to at the end of my day. I want to encourage you to do the same. While you may be preoccupied during spring break, I challenge you to take some time for yourself, and your family. Set aside at least one day to work on your wellness. Do something that makes you happy. I don’t care if it’s binge watching a show on Netflix (everybody needs those lazy days), or if it’s taking time to spend with your family, or your pet. Book a massage for yourself, get your hair done, go for a walk, treat yourself to that new restaurant you’ve been eyeing up for weeks. Anything that will give your mind a break from the work is acceptable in my eyes.

I myself have used the excuse of not having time, but when it comes down to it, it was only because I was not prioritizing my well-being. Taking care of ourselves is so often seen as a burden, because yes it does take time, it does take determination. However, it doesn’t have to be this terrible burden. Taking care of yourself is a privilege, be glad to do something that is good for you. As I mentioned, it does not even have to be time consuming, if you absolutely have to, you can light a candle, drink tea, or eat an apple while you are busy with your day-to-day tasks, at least it’s a start!

 

Alicia Diedrich

 

0 Responses to “Take a break this spring break”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 485 other followers

Follow us on Twitter

Archives

Hours & Info

414-288-5607
Mon-Fri 8 am to 4 pm

