Hasta la Pasta, Hello Zoodles

How-to-make-zucchini-noodles-zoodles-8

Lately, I have been experimenting with healthy recipes, testing out the meals that I genuinely enjoy eating, while ditching the meals that I feel like I am being forced to eat only because of its health benefits. Since being healthy is a lifestyle choice, it should be enjoyable in order to help the routine to stick and maintain that lasting motivation to keep continuing it. Zoodles (zucchini noodles) have been all the rage lately, so I wanted to hop onto the bandwagon and see what the fuss was all about. As a highly dedicated advocate of all things pasta and carbs, I could not see myself finding an alternative that was better for me, let alone GOOD! But low and behold, I proved myself wrong when I made zoodles for the first time. The manner in how they absorb the flavor of any sauce you put on top, the quick speed it takes to thoroughly cook them, and the sweet, nutty flavor are only a couple reasons that made this a immediate go-to staple for me!

Ingredients

  • Zucchini (spiralized)
  • Choice of Vegetables (I prefer broccoli and mushrooms)
  • Choice of Meat (I prefer no meat)
  • Sauce (Sriracha, Peanut Butter, Soy Sauce, Honey)
  • Garlic
  • Olive oil
  • Peanuts

Directions

  1. Turn stove to medium heat
  2. Drizzle pan with olive oil
  3. Saute garlic into pan when it medium temperature
  4. Saute vegetables in the pan – follow up with meat if desired
  5. Mix sauce ingredients together and drizzle some of it onto the vegetables (and meat)
    1. I don’t follow strict measurements and usually eyeball the ratio, while trying it out periodically to get the taste and consistency to fit my liking
  6. Saute the zoodles with the vegetables and meat
  7. Let simmer until everything is cooked thoroughly
  8. Serve onto plate and top with crushed peanuts

I personally like my zoodles prepared incorporating Asian flavors, but if you are more open to other varieties, here is a list that I plan on trying in the future! Experiment, try some out, and modify it to your liking! Just know that you are doing your body good using zoodles as an alternative to your traditional pasta noodles! 

Diet plays a significant role of what keeps us going throughout the day, so why not make it the part of our day that we are are looking forward to instead of dreading!

0 Responses to “Hasta la Pasta, Hello Zoodles”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 606 other subscribers

Follow us on Twitter

Archives

Hours & Info

414-288-5607
Mon-Fri 8 am to 4 pm